I am still alive!

I’ve been having one hell of a time adjusting to my new work schedule. Not to mention, I’m working 40 hours a week at that 12am-8am shift. I like the job, but it’s exhausting, and I’m still trying to learn how to balance life with it. I’ve been writing, though, and I have about 20k words for the newest version of Seize the Day. I haven’t written anything (yet) today, and I’m going to try to get in at least 750 words so I can say just above the NaNoWriMo quotas. On my days off, I tend to find enough time to bang out about 4-5k, so those days have been helping me stay caught up.

This has just shown me that I CAN in fact write while working full-time, and I can continuously hit my personal writing goals. I just wish I worked a different shift, at this point. It is what it is, however. I actually worked last night, so I’m starting to feel the urge to collapse for 20 minutes. 

My characters continue to astound me, however. Jazz and Savin are moving so quickly — it’s all lust and love at first sight with them and it’s so weird, because every version of this story I’ve written so far, they’ve had to wait to be together. Now? Not so much. I’ve learned that the one night stand I’ve always seen them have is 100% true, and that it was Jazz who initiates their initial encounter. 

Savin, however, is pretty much immediately smitten and is the one who pushes for a more emotional connection. Which, of course, will make things more tragic as I continue to write this. We’ll see how it goes, though. I’m almost entirely winging this. I’m letting the characters guide the way, as it should be, when I write a first draft. They like to tell me the way, a lot of the time. 🙂

A snippet, of Jazz and Savin being… well, themselves:

“You alright?”

Jazz snapped his eyes open, looking towards the source of the voice. Savin stood before him, hands shoved inside the pockets of his lab coat. For the first time, Jazz noticed Savin wore scrubs underneath them — scrubs that hugged Savin’s body closely. It took a moment for Savin’s expectant look and his words to register before Jazz nodded and ran his fingers through his hair. “Yeah, I’m just tired,” he answered, grateful that his voice didn’t betray him.

“I see you got rid of most of the Guard,” Savin said, offering Jazz a slight smirk. He glanced around the hall, the smile disappearing somewhat. “There’s a room just a few more feet down to your left — it might be best if we spoke in there.”

Jazz nodded, pushing himself away from the wall. He headed in the direction Savin had pointed out to him, tensing slightly as Savin’s hand pressed against his back, guiding him through an open door. He could feel his face heat up as Savin’s hand never left the small of his back, like it had done the night they met. As the door shut behind them both, Savin’s hand moved away.

“You really can’t go anywhere without your guards, can you?” Savin asked just as Jazz turned back around to face him.

Jazz shook his head. “Not really,” he answered, a shaky smile on his lips. He failed to keep his mind off of how close he and Savin were standing to one another. How he could almost feel the heat of the other man’s body from where they stood. “I managed to sneak away from the Palace the other night without them, don’t worry.”

Savin smiled at that, relief prominent on his face. “Thank god,” he said, shaking his head. His expression sobered up, slightly. “What is it that you wanted to talk to me about that you couldn’t discuss with me in front of your father?”

Jazz opened his mouth to answer, then looked away, knowing his face had to be turning red yet again. “I wanted to thank you,” he said, catching his bottom lip underneath his teeth. “Most people — they wouldn’t be able to keep up this level of professionalism in front of my father. Or in front of me, for that matter. It shows me just how dedicated you are to giving him the best care, possible.”

Jazz finally found the courage to lift his eyes again, looking directly at Savin. The older man just smiled at him, shaking his head slightly. “And here I thought you wanted something else…” he murmured, removing his hands from his pockets.

That time, Jazz’s face definitely burned, his eyes widening somewhat. “What do you mean?” he asked, feigning innocence.

Savin laughed, the sound far more soothing to Jazz’s ears than it should have been. “I think you know exactly what I mean,” he said, keeping his voice low as his hands placed themselves on Jazz’s hips. He pulled Jazz close to him, their lips meeting again for the first time in a few days. Jazz found himself surrendering into the kiss entirely, his body pressing against Savin’s as his hands roamed up Savin’s chest and over his shoulders.

Part of him knew this was a bad idea — that they could get caught, that Savin was at work, that he shouldn’t even be giving Savin false hope. But he couldn’t stop himself as Savin pushed him against a nearby wall. Couldn’t contain his quiet gasps as Savin’s lips moved from his mouth to his neck. “Is there anyway you can get some time off to see me?” Savin breathed against his skin.

Jazz managed a breathless chuckle at that, his fingers tangling themselves in Savin’s hair as Savin continued to press kisses and small nips to his neck. “I’m acting Emperor for the next month, at least,” he said, shivering as Savin’s hands slipped under his shirt. “I can try to block out time for a date, but –”

“Add me to your dad’s personal medical staff,” Savin suggested, his fingertips brushing against Jazz’s nipples. “I don’t care how you do it, just make it so that I can see you every once in a while after your dad leaves here.”

Jazz didn’t get a chance to say anything in response as Savin’s lips covered his yet again. The two ground against one another, hips moving feverishly and betraying their level of desire for one another. “I can — “ Jazz interrupted himself with a quiet moan, Savin’s hand dipping below the waist of his jeans. “I can try to convince him — to do that.”

“Who else would know his medical needs better than me?” Savin argued, his hand continuing to move south. As his fingers wrapped around Jazz’s length, Jazz threw his head back, a loud groan escaping him this time. “I want to be able to see you without the Guard breathing down our necks…”

“I know,” Jazz gasped, his hands roaming all over Savin’s chest and down his sides. He pulled the other man closer to him, teasing another deep kiss out of Savin in order to keep himself quiet. “We should — should probably stop. I have to –” He couldn’t finish his sentence, not as Savin unzipped his jeans with his other hand and pulled Jazz free from them.

“You’re not leaving until I get you off,” Savin muttered against his lips. “I can’t stop thinking about you, Jazz. Please, let me do at least this much.”

Jazz only managed a nod, his fingers grasping the wall behind him as tightly as he could. When Savin sunk to his knees, those same fingers buried themselves in Savin’s hair. Savin’s lips and tongue slid along the length of his cock, and he had to bite down on his free hand in order to keep himself quiet. As much as he wanted Savin to tease, he knew they didn’t have the time for that.

Savin seemed to know that, as well, his mouth dipping down to take in as much of Jazz’s length as was possible. As Jazz’s quiet whimpers filled the room, Jazz couldn’t help looking down at the man kneeling before him, their eyes meeting for a brief second before Savin closed his again in concentration.

Moments later, Jazz came with a shuddering gasp, nails digging into Savin’s scalp. The older man swallowed everything he could, a slight chuckle escaping his lips as he pulled away from Jazz and smirked up at him. As Savin rose to his feet, Jazz tucked himself back into his jeans, not having the time to revel in the pleasure Savin had just given him. Savin pulled Jazz in for another kiss, and Jazz could taste himself in Savin’s mouth. Without thinking, Jazz’s hand landed on top of Savin’s arousal, rubbing him through his scrubs. “Let me –”

“You don’t have the time for that,” Savin whispered, stifling a quiet moan. He gestured to the door with his head. “Go, before I let you, anyway. Text me when you get a chance.”

“Savin…” Jazz didn’t pull his hand away, instead slipping his hand under Savin’s scrubs. He leaned in closer to the older man, breathing against his neck. “I can’t just leave you like this.”

He felt Savin shiver underneath his hand and his lips as he, too, began to trace small shapes into Savin’s skin with his tongue. It didn’t matter that his father was in the hospital room next to them, he hadn’t had a moment to even contact the man in front of him, no matter how much he had wanted to. Now that he had Savin breathing heavily in his ear, stifled moans escaping him, how could he possibly leave?

