I’ve only written 400 words today.

I had a job interview this morning during kiddo’s preschool hours. Got the job, do on-boarding tomorrow, probably start next week. Just in time for me to flail about uselessly during NaNo. I did win 2010 while working and going to school and dealing with a 1 year old, so I suspect I can manage it now. Except then I worked mostly 3-9pms, and I’ll likely be working 11p-7a. 

I’ll find a way to make it work. 😉 

Aside from that, I’ve been trying to figure out the story for Seize the Day. I know the main plot points — always have. But now that I’ve removed certain things that are really in a separate book, it makes the story that much less convoluted…and leaves me scratching my head. 

Biggest thing I came to terms with? Savin is the main character. I should have listened to him years ago. He always insisted he was. *sigh* But figuring out when he meets Jazz is…hard. Because it has to overlap with the end of Jazz’s relationship with Mitchel. I have a feeling Jazz wasn’t faithful for the last bit of it. He’s young, doesn’t exactly know how to end the relationship with Mitchel, etc. 

I always had this piece of information where Jazz and Savin originally had a one night stand but then didn’t pursue a further relationship for a little while after that. I don’t necessarily think that’s true anymore. 

Of course, now that I’m writing this blog post, I’m getting dialogue. A whispered conversation between Jazz and Savin after meeting each other again after their one night stand. It’s after Jazz’s father ended up as one of Savin’s surgical patients — and Savin didn’t realize who the hell Jazz was, when they slept together. I think he might also be there with Mitchel, who’s still obviously together with Jazz (I saw Savin seeing Mitchel have an arm around Jazz’s waist etc etc). 

Hm…. I will have to let this sit, and see where it goes in my head, I think. But now I have a vague idea of what the beginning is like. Hilariously enough, I have the middle and end of this book pretty clear in my head. Which is nice for me, as a pantser. 😉 

I guess I’m getting as close to ready for NaNo as I can be. 🙂

