• Writing a trilogy that is, at its core, a political drama
  • Writing about politics
  • Writing politicians
  • Writing scenes with more than three individuals present and participating in the conversation at the same time
  • Writing scenes with more than five individuals present and participating in the conversation at the same time
  • Writing said scenes where all five+ individuals are politicians

The Good News: The Council Scene itself is complete and all of the important plot points have been brought up and discussed and even some future events were foreshadowed in a way that didn’t feel like I was hitting the reader over the head with a sledgehammer.

The Bad News: There are still more of these scenes to come and I weep for my sanity.

Why did I decide to write a political drama again? Why couldn’t I stick with something easy, like romance? I mean, romance requires no thought for me. Just let the characters do what they want. Intergalactic political drama that takes place in a very, very distant future? Requires way too much damn thought.

Brain break over. Back to work, for me.

