Image

40k words for my first draft of Book 2! I finished two chapters today and rounded out the day with about 2600 words written. There weren’t any parts that I particularly struggled with, though the Council scene in Chapter 20 mentally kicked my ass. Too many characters speaking in one scene, too much plot in one scene, too much ahhhhh why am I writing a political dramaaaaaa in one scene, etc.

But then I got to do something I very rarely get to do, which is write someone telling Jazz off for being a know-it-all asshole. Observe:

“Fucking seriously?” Ryin snapped, pinching the bridge of his nose. He could feel the heat rising in his ears. “You really fucking think I’m only considering this idea because I want to be closer to Jordine?”

“It’s the only one that makes any damn sense to me,” Jazz stated, lifting his chin. “There are more peaceful ways to handle this –”

“Tell you what, Jasper,” Ryin growled, slamming his briefcase shut. “When you become Emperor, you can tell me how to do my fucking job. Until then, shut the fuck up and let me do what I think is best for my Empire.”

Jazz gaped at him, hurt creeping into his eyes. “I didn’t mean –”

“You fucking meant to,” Ryin hissed, snatching his briefcase off the table and turning on his heel. “Don’t even try to lie to me, Jasper. I know when you do.”

“Ryin, I’m –”

He didn’t hear the rest, not after the door shutting behind him effectively cut Jazz off. It wasn’t like Jazz would have said anything of value, anyway.

